Date: 9th August 2016 at 5:48pm
Written by:

Millwall are represented in the first Football League team of the week that has been selected after this week’s action.

The performance by Byron Webster in Millwall’s three nil victory over Oldham Athletic at the weekend at The Den was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other most impressive performers in the Football League pyramid.

I think we’ll already know ourselves, and not just based on the latest performance, why Webster was selected as part of the team but explaining the choice – the FL blurb read.

‘Runners-up in last year’s Play-Off Final, Millwall signalled their intentions this season with a thumping 3-0 win over Oldham Athletic. Last term, Webster netted three goals in the final five Sky Bet League One games for the Lions, and he picked up where he left off with the third and final goal at The Den.’

It’s always good to see the club represented in this way, and well played to Webster for his recognition, but the most important thing about the weekend was of course the win.

Full Team:

Aaron Chapman (Accrington Stanley), Byron Webster (Millwall), Joe McNerney (Crawley Town), Scott Cuthbert (Luton Town), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Yaser Kasim (Swindon Town), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town), Marcus Maddison (Peterborough United), Grant Ward (Ipswich Town), Britt Assombalonga (Nottingham Forest), Simeon Jackson (Walsall).

Manager – Paul Hurst (Grimsby Town).