Date: 1st June 2017 at 12:50am
Written by:

Millwall are represented in the EFL Team Of The Play Offs that has been selected following the final Play Off Final of 2016/17.

Huddersfield Town booked their place in the Premier League for next term with a penalty shootout victory over Reading at Wembley in the Championship Play Off, whilst in the League One Final Millwall won one nil over Bradford City to reach the Championship. Finally League Two, saw Blackpool overcome Exeter City two one to reach League One.

Taking in the Semi Final stages of the Play Offs as well, here is the team selected.

The performances by Tony Craig, Shaun Williams and Steve Morison and that of manager Neil Harris in Millwall’s three games against Scunthorpe United and Bradford City was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other most impressive performers in the Play Off competition.

I think we’ll already know ourselves, and not just based on the latest performance, why the quartet were selected as part of the team but explaining the choice – the blurb read.


‘Craig set up the goal that began Millwall’s semi-final comeback against Scunthorpe United, providing a superb cross for Steve Morison to score. The captain backed that up with an immense performance at Wembley, nullifying Bradford City’s threat as the Lions secured Sky Bet League One promotion.’


‘A calm and composed figure in midfield, Williams excelled for Millwall over their three Play-Off games. With the clock ticking towards the 90-minute mark at Wembley, the Irishman then provided a touch of class, with his cross leading to the promotion-winning goal.’


‘After scoring twice and setting the other up in a 3-2 semi-final win at Scunthorpe, Morison took centre stage again in the Play-Off Final. Leading the line superbly, the striker demonstrated his prowess in front of goal again, grabbing the late winner which fired the Lions to the Sky Bet Championship.’


‘After suffering Play-Off Final heartache last term, Harris lifted his Lions to guide them back to the post-season. After finishing sixth, Millwall had to do it the hard way – overcoming Scunthorpe and then Bradford to return to the Sky Bet Championship.’

Full Team:

Danny Ward (Huddersfield Town), Tony Craig (Millwall), Christopher Schindler (Huddersfield Town), Chris Gunter (Reading), Bright Osayi-Samuel (Blackpool), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town), Brad Potts (Blackpool), David Wheeler (Exeter City), Steve Morison (Millwall), Mark Cullen (Blackpool).

Manager – Neil Harris (Millwall).