Date: 16th April 2016 at 10:25pm
Written by:

The Football League have now announced most of the shortlists for the 2015-16 annual awards event.

Celebrating the on and off pitch successes in the League’s 72 member clubs, the annual event features ten specific categories.

The Awards ceremony on Sunday April 17 will also be held in Manchester for the first time to coincide with the formation of the Football League in Manchester back in 1888.

Marketing Director of the league, Drew Barrand, explained.

‘The Football League Awards 2016 provides a platform for us to showcase the very best of what The Football League is all about. Once again, the standard of entries has gone up so those clubs and individuals included on the shortlists deserve real praise for their achievements. We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to announcing the winners in April at what will be the first ever Football League Awards evening to be held in Manchester.’

Sunday’s event will be screened live on Youtube for anybody wanting to watch it in full – visit the Football League’s YouTube page and streaming begins at approximately 8.35pm apparently.

Millwall are listed in the Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year shortlist.

The category shortlists announced are:

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year:

Doncaster Rovers
Oxford United

Johnstone`s Paint Community Club of the Year:

North East & Yorkshire – Rotherham United
North West – Burnley
Midlands – Burton Albion
London – Charlton Athletic
South East – Brighton & Hove Albion
South West & Wales – Cardiff City

PFA Player in the Community:

Danny Grainger – Carlisle United
Andy Butler – Doncaster Rovers
George Friend – Middlesbrough

LFE Apprentice of the Year:

David Popa – Birmingham City
Ademola Lookman – Charlton Athletic
Mathew Hudson – Preston North End

League 1
James Bree – Barnsley
Bright Osayi-Samuel – Blackpool
Thomas Smith – Swindon Town

League 2
Hakeem Odoffin – Barnet (now Wolves)
Frankie Musonda – Luton Town
Ben Godfrey – York City (now Norwich)

Mitre Goal Of The Year:

Doncaster Rovers – Andy Williams
Fleetwood Town – David Ball
Hartlepool United – Michael Duckworth
Leyton Orient – Blair Turgott
Luton Town – Luke Guttridge
Oxford United – Kemar Roofe
Preston North End – Jermaine Beckford
Reading – Danny Williams
Sheffield Wednesday – Marco Matias
Walsall – Romaine Sawyers

Young Player of the Year:

Fulham – Moussa Dembele
Leeds United – Lewis Cook
Walsall – Rico Henry

Championship Player of the Year:

Brentford – Alan Judge
Burnley – Andre Gray
Fulham – Ross McCormack

League 1 Player of the Year:

Gillingham – Bradley Dack
Swindon Town – Nicky Ajose
Walsall – Romaine Sawyers

League 2 Player of the Year:

Bristol Rovers – Matty Taylor
Northampton Town – Ricky Holmes
Oxford United – Kemar Roofe

Shortlists yet to be announced are the Sir Tom Finney Award and the Contribution to League Football award.

This year also sees a new category introduced – the Football Manager Team of the Season – that will recognise the best eleven players and manager from across all three Football League divisions and that will be announced on the night itself.

Vital Millwall on: facebook

Vital Millwall on: twitter


Join The Vital Debate