Date: 18th April 2016 at 2:55am
Written by:

The Football League have now announced the category winners from last night’s 2015-16 annual awards ceremony.

Celebrating the on and off pitch successes in the League’s 72 member clubs, the annual event took place in Manchester for the first time to coincide with the formation of the Football League in Manchester back in 1888.

With more than 600 guests in attendance from clubs, sponsors and the football industry, the gala event at Manchester Central was streamed live on the internet, and saw the unveiling of a new category this year, the Football Manager Team of the Season, which will now be a regular pick, recognising players from all three divisions in the future.

For those clubs recognised in one way or another in the Award handouts, they’ll be hoping for similar and more success next season, and for those not involved this time round, they’ll be hoping that changes next campaign.

Speaking at the event, Chief Executive of the Football League, Shaun Harvey, said.

‘During another action-packed Football League season it is important to acknowledge outstanding performances, both on and off the pitch. We`re delighted to recognise this special group of nominees who have shown exceptional levels of talent, dedication and achievement. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and particularly our winners, all of whom are deserving of their accolade.’

The full list of Award winners is shown below:

Contribution to League Football Award:
Andy Williamson OBE

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year:
Andre Gray (Burnley)

Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year:
Bradley Dack (Gillingham)

Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year:
Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)

Football League Young Player of the Year:
Lewis Cook (Leeds United)

Football Manager Team of the Season:
Goalkeeper: Adam Smith (Northampton Town)
Defender: Bruno (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Defender: Craig Morgan (Wigan Athletic)
Defender: Daniel Ayala (Middlesbrough)
Defender: George Friend (Middlesbrough)
Midfielder: Alan Judge (Brentford)
Midfielder: Bradley Dack (Gillingham)
Midfielder: Joey Barton (Burnley)
Forward: Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)
Forward: Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town)
Forward: Andre Gray (Burnley)
Manager: Chris Wilder (Northampton Town)

Johnstone`s Paint Community Club of the Year:
Charlton Athletic (Charlton Athletic Community Trust)

Regional Winners:

South East:
Brighton & Hove Albion (Albion in the Community)

North East & Yorkshire:
Rotherham United (Rotherham United Community Sports Trust)

North West:
Burnley (Burnley FC in the Community)

Burton Albion (Burton Albion Community Trust)

South West & Wales:
Cardiff City (Cardiff City FC Foundation)

Mitre Goal of the Year Award:
Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday)

PFA Player in the Community Award:
George Friend (Middlesbrough)

The Sir Tom Finney Award:
Kevin Davies

Capital One Supporter of the Year:
Oskar Pycroft (Bristol City)

Divisional winners:
League 1: Tommy Leggett (Colchester United)
League 2: Pat Custard (Yeovil Town)

LFE Apprentice of the Year for the Championship:
Ademola Lookman (Charlton Athletic)

LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 1:
James Bree (Barnsley)

LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 2:
Ben Godfrey (York City)

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year:

Divisional Winners:
League 1: Doncaster Rovers
League 2: Oxford United

Vital Millwall on: facebook

Vital Millwall on: twitter


Join The Vital Debate