Date: 27th July 2016 at 10:23am
Written by:

A short time ago, the full draw for the Group Stage round of this season’s EFL Trophy was made.

As fans will know, the competition has been revamped this year and we do welcome in 16 Category One Academy sides into the competition, with each of the now Under 23 sides, featuring on a one per group basis – 16 groups, four teams each.

The announcement of the clubs that would join the competition on that basis was made earlier this morning and they are:

North Section:

Blackburn Rovers, Everton, Stoke City, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Derby County, Leicester City, Middlesbrough, Sunderland.

South Section:

Chelsea, Reading, Swansea City, West Ham, Brighton, Norwich City, Southampton, West Bromwich Albion.

The Group Stage draw was conducted by Preston North End manager Simon Grayson and began shortly after 10am.

And these are the Groups drawn.

Northern Section:
Group A:
Bolton Wanderers
Cheltenham Town

Group B:
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Crewe Alexandra
Accrington Stanley

Group C:
Stoke City
Bradford City

Group D:
Blackburn Rovers
Fleetwood Town
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic

Group E:
Derby County
Port Vale
Doncaster Rovers
Mansfield Town

Group F:
Hartlepool United
Notts County

Group G:
Scunthorpe United
Cambridge United
Shrewsbury Town

Group H:
Leicester City
Sheffield United
Grimsby Town

Southern Section:
Group A:
Bristol Rovers
Yeovil Town

Group B:
Swansea City
Newport County
Plymouth Argyle

Group C:
Swindon Town
Exeter City
Oxford United

Group D:
West Ham
Coventry City
Wycombe Wanderers
Northampton Town

Group E:
Charlton Athletic
Colchester United
Crawley Town

Group F:
Norwich City
Peterborough United
MK Dons

Group G:
Southend United
Leyton Orient

Group H:
West Bromwich Albion
Luton Town

Further information will be released by clubs when it comes to the games themselves, ticket information, confirmed dates and so on.

For other changes this year – the specifics read.

Three points for a win – one for a draw. At the end of 90 minutes if drawn, a penalty shootout will take place with the winning team earning an additional point.

The top two teams in each group go through to the knockout stages. The group winner goes through to face a runner up at the next stage.

Round 3 (16 sides) and Round 4 (8 sides) will be a free draw.

The Semi Final will be a free draw and a single leg at the stadium of the side drawn first.

Further arrangements for Semi Final and Final will be confirmed later – for example, if drawn like earlier rounds, it goes straight to penalties.


Group Stage – w/c August 29, October 3, November 7.
Round 2 – w/c December 5.
Round 3 – w/c January 9.
Round 4 – w/c January 23.
Semi Final – w/c February 20.
Final – Sunday April 2, 2017, at Wembley Stadium.