Date: 6th July 2016 at 2:36pm
Written by:

With 16 Category One Academy clubs invited into this year’s Football League Trophy, the full details of the competition and the invited sides have now been confirmed.

Joining League One and Two clubs on a one year trial for 2016/17 will be sides representing Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Southampton, Stoke City, Sunderland, Swansea City, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion and West Ham United.

As the format was announced earlier today, chief executive of the Football League Shaun Harvey explained.

‘The new format is intended to rejuvenate this competition and also assist the development of the very best young players in English football. This will help us deliver more and better home grown players which will deliver benefits to the national team and domestic league football at all levels. I believe this is the right time to pilot these changes to the EFL Trophy, which we will review at the end of the 2016/17 season following discussions with our clubs and having consulted with the other football bodies and supporter organisations.’

A Premier League spokesman added.

‘The overriding aim of the Elite Player Performance Plan across the Premier League and English Football League is to produce more and better home grown players capable of performing at first team and international levels. Participation for a selection of Premier League clubs’ teams to take part in the EFL Trophy is an important part of a range developments that both we and the EFL believe will help young, talented players progress physically and mentally on top of the technical aspect of their game developed in the Academy system. It is a progressive move by both leagues; one that we welcome.’

The prize fund for the competition this year is said to £1.95million with the Premier League contributing £1million of that with the Under 21 sides taking part.

It will also see the overall winner pocket £100,000, with £10,000 for a win and £5000 distributed per draw in the Group stage.

Full terms of the competition format.


48 clubs from League One & Two.

16 invited Category One Academy teams.

Eligibility Criteria:

EFL Clubs – a minimum of 5 ‘First Team` players in the starting 11 as defined under the competition`s existing rules.

Invited Clubs – 6 of the starting 11 to be U21 (as at June 30).

Group Stage:

16 groups of 4 teams organised on a regionalised basis.

Groups to include one invited club and at least one club from each of Leagues One & Two.

Clubs to play each other once, either home or away. Invited clubs will play one home game at the club`s first team stadium.

Clubs will be awarded 3 points for a win and 1 point for a draw. In the event of a drawn game (after 90 minutes), a penalty shootout will be held with the winning team earning an additional point.

The top two teams will progress to the Knockout Stage.

Knockout Stage:

Round 2 (32 teams) will remain regionalised with each group winner being drawn at home to a second placed team from a different qualifying group.

Round 3 (16 teams) and Round 4 (8 teams) will be ‘free` draws.

Semi-finals (4 teams) will be a ‘free` draw and will consist of single ties played at the stadium of the club drawn first in each tie.

If scores are level after 90 minutes in Rounds 2, 3 and 4, the game will be determined by the taking of penalties. The EFL will confirm arrangements for the Semi-Finals and Final in due course following further consultation.


Group Stage
– w/c 29th August 2016
– w/c 3rd October 2016
– w/c 7th November 2016

Round 2
– w/c 5th December 2016
– Round 3 – w/c 9th January 2017
– Round 4 – w/c 23rd January 2017
– Semi- Final – w/c 20th February 2017
– Final – 2nd April 2017 (Wembley Stadium)

The date of the draw for the group stage will be announced in due course.

Match Proceeds:

After deduction of match expenses, all proceeds will be split:
– 45% Home Club
– 45% Away Club
– 10% to the pool account

Invited clubs will donate all or some of their share of gate receipts to a fund that will be shared equally by League One and Two clubs.

Group Stage – Invited Clubs will donate their 45% share to the fund.
Knockout Stage – Invited Clubs will retain 25% of their share and donate 20% to the fund.
Semi-finals & Final – Invited Clubs will retain 30% of their share and donate 15% to the fund.